Edge of Night 1: Betwixt and Between


“The book’s title is quite apropos for its story, which swept me into a shadowy netherworld of dream and nightmare to witness a heroic and mind-bending battle for love and deliverance.” ~ Rainbow Book Reviews

 “This was such a fun story. I got sucked in to the world and lore created and couldn’t stop reading.” ~ Molly Lolly

“A stunning blend of eerie darkness and deep, abiding love comes alive in Betwixt and Between.  The first story in the Edge of Night series begins with a powerful tale of otherworldly creatures, a lost heritage and an evil queen.  The inexplicable love between Ian and Zeke comes across well, their heartache and willingness to sacrifice all is powerful.  An excellent start, Betwixt and Between tests the bonds of true love and doesn’t disappoint.” ~ Joyfully Reviewed

Edge of Night is a contemporary m/m fantasy series set in Seattle.  Each book is a stand-alone but with continuing characters who I hope you’ll fall in love with and follow from adventure to adventure.


Available at these retailers:  Amazon   Kobo   Barnes & Noble  Books2Read


AD_EON1_BetwixtandBetween_cover large

Cover art by April Martinez

The Blurb:

Obsessed with magical creatures since childhood, tabloid reporter Ian Evers never experiences satisfying proof that the magical realm actually exists until he falls into an entrapment spell set by a handsome but dangerous elf.  Barely escaping with his soul intact, Ian is able to undo the hex, but he can’t escape the very real infatuation he’s developed for the fierce elf.

Ezekiel Stormshadow is a svarta, a dark elf who serves the queen of the dark realm. The realm of darkness needs the power of light to survive, and while hunting the last few magical beings on earth, Ezekiel discovers Ian, a light elf who’s unaware of his true nature and ripe for the plucking.  Their brief encounter awakens a great hunger in Ezekiel, and he’s determined to feast on the light elf’s power and body before the queen intervenes and claims Ian for herself.

Driven apart by the ancient imbalance between the dark and light realms, an evil queen starved for power, and their fear of each other, Ian and Ezekiel are relentlessly drawn together even though their union might destroy them both.

A sample:

Chapter One

Even as the first haunting chords drifted up the cement stairwell, Ezekiel detected a nibble on his bait. He pressed his bow more firmly to the strings on his violin and pulled his elbow back. His prey drew closer.

He’d had his doubts about setting up in midday and in such a busy, public spot, but a tug at his instincts had guided him here. Over the centuries he’d learned to never ignore that tug. The music echoed nicely, penetrating the dull roar of the Pike Street Market above and the viaduct below. From the open staircase, he had a partial view of the waterfront and Puget Sound beyond.

He’d set up on a landing below street level on the stairs that led from the waterfront to the market. On a rainy Tuesday in February, the market wasn’t the teeming morass of humans it usually was, and Ezekiel easily sensed the motions of the liosa as it descended the stairs.

He threw a little more passion into Smetana’s symphonic poem, Vltava. The lines cast out by the music shimmered darkly in the dull light. Like the strings on his violin, the lines vibrated and emitted sounds only he could hear beneath the music. The liosa’s thoughts whispered in his ear. It was cautious but curious. Untrained. Ezekiel detected no significant magical protections, and thanked his lucky stars for this gift.

Don’t lap at the blood before it is spilled, he cautioned himself. Though he sensed his prey was utterly unaware of the trap, he could be spooked if Ezekiel revealed any of his power too soon. And so he played on, risking only a quick peek from beneath his eyelashes.

The liosa had paused a few steps up from the landing, just beyond the wall that blocked the view of the rest of the stairwell. He lingered in the shadows but did not radiate any fear. Ezekiel caught a glimpse of wind-tousled blond hair, large dark eyes, a lumpy coat, and battered hiking boots.

Ezekiel pulled some of the liosa’s essence toward him along the strings and conjured a clearer picture. Human male, slim and tasty. Ezekiel’s favorite form. The man had the dark mocha-colored eyes of a High-Wood alfar, but Ezekiel recognized no clan markings, no talismans, no link to the past. This was most excellent. No one would miss him. A fresh, unclaimed source of power, his for the taking. Even the dark queen Ysolde might not be aware of him.

The liosa held a camera and was about to take Ezekiel’s photo. He was as good as caught.

4 thoughts on “Edge of Night 1: Betwixt and Between

  1. Pingback: GRL Featured Blog Post: Guestpost & Giveaway Alexis Duran | Love Bytes

  2. Pingback: Weekend Writing Warrior ~ New Year, New Book | Alexis Duran

  3. Pingback: Weekend Writing Warriors ~Test Me | Alexis Duran

  4. Pingback: Weekend Writing Warriors ~ This Isn’t Fae Magic | Alexis Duran

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s